Welcome to my blog

I am thrilled to announce that I am to be Artist in Residence at The Sculpture Park at Waitakaruru Arboretum http://www.sculpturepark.co.nz  just out of Hamilton, New Zealand.

The unique Waikato Sculpture Park is a former quarry that has been transformed into a magnificent 17 hectare garden and arboretum.  It has approx. 18,000 trees and shrubs, a stream, towering cliffs, rocks, a stream, many ponds, and small waterfalls.

Opportunities are abundant within the unique park landscape. I will be experimenting with tree wrapping, eco printing, compost and mud dyeing using materials within the park. Experiments will be marked with yellow flags around the park.

My practice uses only ecologically sustainable plant dye methods.  I will be dyeing natural fibres, paper and threads, running workshops ‘Colour from Nature’,  for children and adults, and working on an installation for the small pavilion by the lower lakes.

I am excited about this opportunity, especially starting at this time of year, with the autumn colour, observing the seasonal changes and beauty of the park.

I will be on site on Thursdays, when tours are booked or by appointment.

This blog is to share my experience and dyeing results and my love of photography.

Enjoy, I look forward to your comments and feedback.

2 thoughts on “Welcome to my blog

Leave a Reply

